More from the frozen North

So yesterday we went to Linn of Dee. It is one of my most favourite places on earth. We walked for a few miles, but as Hannah had been a Stacey and wouldn’t take a decent jacket or walking boots, she was freezing, so we turned back before we saw any deer. Lots of nice photos though, which I can’t upload on the power tv.  Came back via Braemar and had a mosey round the outdoor shop as Bob split his climbing boots the other day, but didn’t see anything he liked. May try to get the others repaired, as he loves them. Bought mealy puddings for lunch time, to have with home made lentil soup. I can make these myself from scratch, as my Gran taught me as a kid, but given we only ever eat them once a year, we buy them from the Queen’s butcher in Braemar! You serve the soup (has to be lentil) in a bowl with the lip, and you put the oatmeal all round the lip, and put some on your soon before you lift some soup. The wikepaedia picture of it served fried for breakfast is a very English way of eating it lol, just done for the tourists 😉

I went for a walk in the late afternoon, while Bob and Hannah wii-ed and then in the evening we were still full, so had toasites and popcorn with a movie night. To make up for no pool, the hotel had reduced all the inhouse movies to 50p, so we watched Nancy Drew and Wall E. While they were doing that, I sent out a newsletter for the business.

Today, we went back to Aberdeen, Bob and Hannah swam, I walked and then spent a couple of hours using Costa’s wifi and a decent mobile reception to respond to the thirty requests for a place on the taster day as advertised in the newsletter. Going to have to find another venue, as mine can only cope with 8. Eek. Think I have sorted out a room in a HI Express. Bob and Hannah now movie viewing again, and I’m about to use the in-lodge jacuzzi and sauna. Bliss.

7 Comments »

  1. Nic said

    1. You lure me here with Joyce-of-old anecdotes and then chuck in references to lentils hither and thither!
    2. What’s a Stacey?
    3. Been sitting here having to restrain myself from booking a place at the course particularly as I’d get to spend your birthday with you that way!

  2. Joyce said

    LOL, I think I meant a Tracy (as in Tracy the teenager). Hannah is horrified I’m working on my birthday! It’s a penny to fly from Bournemouth atm. (although it will wreck your current green credentials ;-)) You were the first person to open the newsletter, which impressed me!

  3. Alison said

    That’s a fantastic response for your taster day 🙂

    Holiday is sounding idyllic – hope it’s feeling like a real break too 🙂

  4. Merry said

    Cor blimey, business rather good then!

  5. Roslyn said

    Happy Birthday, hope you have a wonderful day xxxxxxxx

  6. kellyi said

    I love the Linn of Dee. My third baby was nearly born in there actually as i fell in when very pregnant (looong story.) not at the actual Linn bit but further down stream. Have also had my closest encounters with red deer there. You’ve made me all home sick now…..:)

  7. Deb said

    What a great response to your taster day – hope it all goes well 🙂

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

