And they say WE eat deep-fried Mars Bars!

Today for the first time ever I made the highly recommended Nigella Ham in Coke. I’m sure I have eaten something as disgusting before, but I would be hard pushed to name it. It was sweet, revolting and had a horrible chemical aftertaste. What a complete waste of time, money and effort that was. In the end, none of us could eat it, and we zapped some frozen chili in the microwave instead.

Culinary disasters aside, we’ve had a nice few days. Weather has been fantastic – rarely above -5c, and really still and sunny. So although its been FREEZING, there has been enough light to make this time of year bearable, and already the light is begining to creep forwards in the evenings. I sometimes can’t bear the greyness in mid winter. So we’ve done lots of walking, relaxing, wii playing and dvd watching (still don’t have a tv). Having heating again is such a novelty though, that sometimes I just go and watch the lights flashing on the new boiler πŸ˜‰

Today we drove to Carlisle to get me a new laptop. My desktop is about 10 years old, and is really unstable now, and needs regular tlc. My laptop, although newer (about 5 years), was fairly low spec, as it was what I could afford at the time, and it was never intended to be the main PC in the house. With the desk top being unreliable, and us only having heat in the living room for the last few months, its been used more and more and had ground to a halt. It also doesn’t like working with the projector, which isn’t ideal when I’m doing pitches. Hannah does have her own, and I’ve been mainly using that, but its not really fair, and I’m scrupulous about not using my work one for the business.

So, I decided what I wanted and was about to order it direct from Dell, when I quick google showed it was Β£150 cheaper in PC World. Unfortunately, it wasn’t a line they were doing in Scotland, nor were they selling in online, but they had them in Carlisle, so I ordered it for Collect in Store, and off we went. Had a good drive down, just over two hours, went for lunch, then picked it up, and stopped in Dumfries on the way home to let the dog run about for a while.

So now I’m setting it all up πŸ™‚ It’s FAST.

7 Comments »

  1. Roslyn said

    I’ve been wanting to make that for ever but I’m not going to now!

    I so know what you mean about the heating and watching the lights!

  2. Allie said

    I know I’m a veggie and so have no idea about meat recipes but I have always thought that sounded vile! Having a new boiler has made our last two winters more relaxing.

  3. Alison said

    Lol, we love gammon in coke πŸ™‚ The quality of the gammon seems to make quite a difference as to how coke-ified it gets. I wouldn’t go back to boiling it in water though.

    I’ve been enjoying the extra minute or two of light each evening too πŸ™‚ It was starting to really annoy me before Christmas having to take Dylan out at about 2.30 to have a decent walk in daylight!

  4. Chris said

    You did use real coca-cola didn’t you?

  5. Nic said

    We really like gammon in coke too although I agree with Alison, it does have to be a decent bit of gammon and it does have to be real coke (and not diet).

  6. Joyce said

    Yeah, real full fat coke and annoyingly expensive gammon joint. Most of it still sitting in the fridge to see if it can make tolerable sandwiches if its covered in mustard to disguise the taste.I think its only the second truly inedible thing I’ve ever made, the first being a mince curry (why??) A few weeks after ee got married. This ham is up there with that.

  7. Alison said

    Oh well, post it down here, we’ll eat it πŸ˜‰

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

