Market research

Have just been browsing the internet for posters – need a relatively cheap way of softening off the edges of very high ceiling, suspended flourescent lights (which I plan on not using at all) white walls and navy blue carpet tiles. I really don’t want to do the traditional “inspirational” poster that people like me ( ;-)) tend to bung up. I’m also think the usual sunflowers and sea scapes are a bit predictable. Any ideas? I’ve been thinking of Kandinsky (though that may be a bit manic), or Klimt. But feeling pretty uninspired really.

9 Comments »

  1. chopstickchanging said

    At what height are you planning to hang the posters?

  2. asilon said

    Would black and white photography be too harsh?
    I’d prefer something abstract, I think.
    And I do like Klimt 🙂

  3. chopstickchanging said

    If I were in the room I think your suggestions would occupy my attention rather more than you would wish 🙂 . I think I would keep posters to appealing, complementary, fresh, humorous but not thought provoking . Lets keep the occupants focussed on you.

  4. Joyce said

    Well, apart from absorbing some of the echo, Elaine, I want to use them to visually bring the ceiling down a bit. High ceilings are lovely, but not when it’s industrial type, with these lights. So probably at about the level you would hang them on a normal wall – so probably with the top at about 6 feet? I was wondering about black and white Alison, then worried that it was a bit “cool coffee shop”. But I do like them, especially random people ones.

  5. HelenHaricot said

    i like klimt, but completely abstract might be good. mondrian, rothko? [softer] or what about some pre-raphelite fantasy stuff??

  6. Joyce said

    Oh, I hadn’t thought of Rothko, Helen. That might work. Though my esteemed mother will say, “were they drawn by a two year old?”, LOL

  7. HelenHaricot said

    at which point you say that h did them!! i like rothko, because the colours draw you in, and can be used as gateway to focus, and it crossed my mind that that might work with what you do. obviously i love the preraphelites, so overblown in there imaginations! lots of lost souls either facing redemption or eternal torment = rofl!

  8. chopstickchanging said

    Ikea do a fabric that is very Mondrain totally useless piece of info I am thinking out loud again, must stop it.

  9. Roslyn said

    Kandinsky is my favourite artist 🙂

    NOT Mondrian please!!!! It’s so what everyone does and shite.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

