Can’t sleep, can’t talk about anything else..

….not put me off eating yet, though;-)

Having looked at a fairly unsuitable training venue yesterday, I worked out that the cost of running one 7 day course in a hotel is only slightly less than three months unit rental.  And the thought of being able to make the space mine is bliss. I hate the corporate hotel feel.

Went and looked at it today from the outside, as Sunday will be one of the days when it’s most used. Walked the distance from the underground one way (10 mins), and took a bus back to the city centre from right outside the door (less than 15 mins), so even though its off centre, it does have good transport links, even on a Sunday. And I think being based in Glasgow rather than here will be a psychological advantage. Was also pleased to realise that the very successful Scottish College of Herbal Medicine leases three of the other units. Not only does this mean that it would be good to be near other similar but non competing businesses, but also as they are open most weekends with students, it means that there will be lots of people around at the weekends. As one of my worries had been that it would be a bit dismal if I was the only place open, this ameliorates that. I’m just bloody terrified of taking the plunge though! Bob says I’ve reached the point of not being able to get bigger unless I have premises, but it definitely moves it from lucrative hobby to serious business status. Gulp.  Plus it would be nice to claim back the spare room and the caravan, both of which are full of things like chairs, flipcharts and their stands, water coolers, student textbooks (bought in bulk for the discount) etc.  Plus if I had my own space, I would do lots more taster days, which are a great marketing tool, but a big investment if I need to hire a venue, as I tend just to charge a very nominal fee for them.

I’m going to go back and have another look inside tomorrow.  Oh dear, what to do??? I’m going to go for a walk and talk to myself some more……

6 Comments »

  1. Roslyn said

    I so understand how scary this step is but once you take it you will soon see how much better life is. Go on!

  2. Ali said

    Joyce it sounds wonderful! OK it’s scary but really, I think it will make so much difference – a space you can set up exactly how you want it, every time, and you can start preparing further in advance, if need be, too. Fantastic.

  3. Nic said

    Do. It. 🙂

  4. tbird said

    sounds perfect, go on, be brave!

  5. Sarah said

    yes go for it, it sounds great. I know it’s a big step and one the business maybe doesn’t feel ready for but sounds as though it’s the right thing to do. Plus, if you can’t sleep until you’ve decided, you’d better get on and do it quickly!!

  6. Elaine said

    Ah well the way I see it is that you have got this far using your intuition so why not keep it on the payroll

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

