Extremely lazy

Thursday night I had the first decent sleep I’d had for ages, as I was finally able to lie down without coughing. Bliss. In fact, I slept so well that I didn’t wake up till Bob phoned at 11am on Friday morning. Slightly embarrassed to find Hannah had been up for hours, had the music teacher in, done the ironing and was doing some more Roman’s stuff. Oh well, I must have needed it. ๐Ÿ™‚ There didn’t seem to be much in the house for lunch, so after I was upright, we went to the garden centre for soup and sandwiches. It wasn’t possibly the best idea, as it was incredibly windy and sleety, and by the time we were home I was shattered and quite wheezy. So, I er, slept on the sofa ๐Ÿ™‚ We’d picked up some stuff at the Burn’s Centre a few weeks ago, and never used it, so Hannah did that in honour of Burn’s night. Bob came home from work feeling pretty miserable as well, so we decided none of us felt well enough to bother with haggis and poetry, as we ate pizza from the freezer, and watched Bridge to Terabithia on dvd.

Saturday Hannah got up and made tea in bed for everyone, and we cracked open a family box of paracetamol. I’d been vaguely insisting that some fresh air would help, but it was such a foul day we kept postponing it, till about 3pm we acknowledged that we probably weren’t going anywhere. Bob made chicken something for dinner, Hannah and I looked on the internet for advance tickets for Disney, and booked aย holiday inn expressย with free parking for a fortnight at the airport for the night before the flight. We had a bit of a chat about what she wanted to do re Maths. I’ve been thinking about My Pals are Here – she finished the S+S Understanding Maths series a while back, and I know she has been doing stuff on Education City, but it doesn’t take much for her to lose her maths confidence, and I know she feels the need for something regular. If I was sure she’d use it, I’d just get it, but I hate the piles to unused stuff we have, with no other kid to pass it onto. We’ve got masses to cgc books, which she loathes. However, she did like the S+S ones, so might work. Having been having one of my regular crisis of confidence re HE – simply because all my friends seem to be becoming absolutely obsessed with their kids education. Two of them have looked their 12 year olds to private schools as they “aren’t getting enough homework”, (the kids are furious about it), another is already fretting about developing appropriate interests for a personal statement of the UCCA form. And while I can’t ever see me feeling like that, a part of me is wondering if I’m being too cavalier. I suppose I still have a fearsome vision of Hannah saying I’ve let her down when she is older. So my nearly 12 year old is writing Dr Who stories and cooking up a storm several times a week, and her peers are fretting about university enterance. Or at least, their mothers are!!

Today Sooty escaped when she was getting put into her run, and we all spent about an hour chasing her round the street – we’d moved the run to the front, as we thought the grass was tastier for them there, as it hasn’t been snacked on all winter. She hid for ages under one of the cars, and eventually Bob poke her out, and I flung a towel over her as she shot out the back of the car. A Rose incident averted! We took the car down to the shore, as I couldn’t face walking back up the hill to the house, and we managed a resonable walk – Hannah took her scooter – though Bob and I were both shattered after it. He rarely gets ill, so is particularly grumpy.ย  Hannah has been playing Bob Dylan on the keyboard – you can tell she is a few generations out of step – and she is now reading some kids Shakespeare, Bob is repairing the hutch roof, which got damaged in the wind the other night, and I’m just about to put a Jamie Oliver approved clucker in the oven.

12 Comments »

  1. Sarah said

    Sounds as though you definitely needed the laziness.

    I’m sure if H can manage without you until 11 in the morning (and do the ironing as well as all the other stuff she did) you have surely done something very right, I wouldn’t worry too much about the maths ๐Ÿ˜‰ Can’t believe you have friends who are thinking about UCAS forms already! GCSEs maybe, but that’s just barmy!

    And you must be beginning to really look forward to Florida now?!

  2. Roslyn said

    Fuck. ~I’m stressing about spelling and general lack of common sense. I’ll think about UCAS in about 8 years. Trust me you have no worries.

    Take care of you all as Florida will be KNACKERING!

  3. leandra said

    Florida !!!! I am so jealous x

  4. Elaine said

    When are we meeting to make GP plans ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Elaine said

    OH JOYCE WE ARE SENDING YOU LOADS OF GET WELL WISHES ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Roslyn said

    Big tomorrow honey!

  7. Roslyn said

    DAY!!! I meant to add day. It’s your fault. I’m drinking your health happiness and a day of LI (for you and him ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

    Wish I could be with you and hope to sort something VERY soon xxxx

  8. Tech said

    Hi Joyce

    Would you mind emailing me, I’ve lost your address and need to pick your brain about something? Cheers m’dear ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Nic said

    Oi Joyce! Happy Birthday ๐Ÿ™‚ xxxx

  10. asilon said

    Happy Birthday Joyce! Hope you’ve had/are having a good day ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Elaine said

    Happy birthday Joyce

  12. HelenHaricot said

    happy birthday

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

