Counting down to holiday

Although not sure about flood situation.  We are going to Wiltshire and Somerset, and I can’t find anything on line to say they are flooded, though of course involve the M5. To be honest, I have no urge to go away at all atm, and if it were not for DD going to camp down there, we’d just head northwards I think. I suppose I’ll enjoy it when I’m away, at the moment, it all just feels like too much hassle.

Had a lovely day yesterday visiting a friend who is staying in a static van nearby. It was a scorching day, and it just rushed by. No photos, though never saw the kids from the moment we arrived anyway.

Washing machine man came again today – the saga continues – and spent three hours doing something inside it, and said I couldn’t use it yet for another 48 hours. Which given I’ve had no machine for three weeks, and am meant to be going on holiday in three days is a bit of a bummer. He didn’t even sound convinced he’d actually fixed it, and Bob’s theory is that he is probably going on ohliday himself in a couple of days, and didn’t want me to find out it wasn’t working till he was safely on a beach in Tenerife. TV also came home this morning, and seems to be taking up a vast amount of room after getting used to the little portable sitting there.

DD has decided she’d like to have a go at Standard Grade chemistry this year – no exams or anything, just to work through the programme, so we spent a couple of hours this morning looking at the periodic table, and I learned more about it than I ever did at school. Rather embarrassing to discover how much larger it’s got since then as well! Then she suddenly complained of a headache, and I realised she had a bit of a fever, so she’s been lying on the sofa since, reading HP. We’ve eaten party food from the freezer for lunch, as no bread, and I’m just about ready to doze off as well.

2 Comments »

  1. t-bird said

    Standard grade chemistry? Oh gosh…. remind me how old she is again????

  2. Joyce said

    She’s only just 11. I don’t know if she will see it through or not, and certainly don’t want her to feel pressured. However, she is interested, and I feel we’ve almost exhausted the kitchen science approach, so I’m happy to support her in this if she wants to give it a go. And we’re aiming at the foundation level stuff atm, as I don’t want to shake her somewhat fragile writing confidence. What suprised me was *I* found it interesting.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

